My career as a teacher. And other things relating to Lent…

For Lent this week I gave up Facebook and replaced it with every other vice people generally give up for Lent. It’s been phenomenal and actually, I feel great.

But, I’m not sure I’ve accomplished much else.

I did write a poem about erasers, had writer’s workshop, skyped with Jessie for probably a grand total of five or six hours, and was generally pretty social. I’ve noticed that if you stay up until 2am drinking coffee with Bailey’s and editing junk, you might feel the need to take narcissistic photos of yourself. Since you can’t post them on Facebook, you might post them on your blog. Like this:

However, in other news, writer’s workshop was this week and as a special event, I taught one of our writers how to smoke for the first time. Lent is about realizing how depraved you are. Right?

Americano & Cornbread Muffin @Red Twig in Edmonds, where we did workshop this week.

Cloves. Because she's too chic for anything else. Because we're both writers. And because I'm a quality teacher who believes that good habits start at the beginning.

Quotes from this memorable afternoon on the waterfront include the following:

“Are you both eighteeen?” Guy at the shop. This was the most flattering thing anyone has said to me… in about seven years.

“Yes. But they’re for her, not for me!” -Michelle

“It’s raining. God doesn’t want us to do this.” -Michelle

“Sometimes, smoking makes me dizzle.” -Tasha. Apparently, I also get extremely affected by nicotine.

“It’s stopped raining. God does want us to do this.” -Michelle

“Getting caught in the rain, ducking into a coffeeshop, the sunset! Tasha, this is so romantic!” -Michelle

“I know.” -Tasha

*Author’s Note: Smoking is not good for your health. Every cigarette takes seven minutes from your life. Seven. I used to quote this fact to my friends growing up every time they (and eventually, we) would smoke. Every time.  I do, however, think that there are things almost everyone should try at least once. Friends don’t let friends experiment alone. Or at least, that’s what my friends taught me growing up. Yes, I am aware of how much of a contradiction I am at times.

This entry was published on February 27, 2012 at 12:25 am and is filed under Life, memiors, photography. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment